Considering getting another rabbit

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SillyAnneh

Reaction score
So I'm a first time rabbit mother, and even though it's been a year, I'm still learning the ins and outs. :shock2: But I've grown to love the rabbit way of life :)

Lately I've been thinking of getting little Bunsen Burner Bishop (her name is Bun, but we've been calling her that lately) a sibling, but I'm not sure if that would be possible.

She's about 2 years old, spayed, New Zealand breed. She's a happy girl, loves the binky and throw toys around, and has free run of my apartment (when I'm home). She's also got a bold streak like I can't believe. One time I was babysitting a German shepherd that very much wanted to eat her (barking, lunging at her enclosure), and she just moseyed up to the barrier between them, showed off her fluffy white tail, and proceeded to take a bath. Could not care less that there was a 50 pound dog about an inch from her. (The dog was quickly moved to another room). She also manages to boss around my 300 pound boyfriend.:p

Since she was a rescue, I'm not sure that she's ever been around other rabbits before. She was an Easter present that someone dyed pink then dumped off on the side of the road. :( Even so, she warms up to new people in minutes.

The reason I mention this is because I'm not sure if she would take well to an addition to the family. I have no idea how she would react.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? I've read that older buns do better with older buns, and male/female pairs are more favorable. Is there any creedance to that?

A good way to find a bunny friend for Bun would be to find a rescue in your area that would allow you to do "bunny dating" with her. There have been other posts about this you could look up here on RO.