Chewing baseboard

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Teddy101

Reaction score
Hi fellow bunny parents,

Ok, you may notice that i keep on asking new questions EVERY minute. Its because i really care about Teddy's wellbeing. This Topic is about teddy chewing the wall. My walls are painted. I am so scared because I think that paint is toxic to them. What should I do? I was thinking of spraying apple cider vinagar, Which is safe for bunnies. Do you guess think this method would work?

Not really sure... I'm not really an expert. But I don't think that spraying it is necessary. I might be wrong though.

If he's trying to chew the walls or baseboard, the best thing to do is block access to them. You can use something like puppy playpen wire panels. Cardboard might work temporarily, but you would need to keep checking to make sure your bun isn't chewing through it.

If the paint or paint underneath the other layers of paint is really old, it can potentially be toxic. Really old paint used to have lead in it, which is toxic. If it's all newer paint, then it's not good for them to eat but shouldn't be toxic.

You'll need to block access. Those bitter sprays (or vinegar) only work with some rabbits but then only temporarily. As soon as it dissipates or evaporates, bunny will go right back to it.

Intact rabbits tend to be excessive in their destructive chewing.

If it is just the baseboards, you can tac a 1 x 2 or 1 x 3 in front of the baseboards. If it is the wall surface, you'll need to block it with something like an x-pen or plexiglass, etc.

Here's a pic of what I've done to block baseboard chewing...

upload_2018-12-29_17-17-40.png