Bunny Renovations

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

degrassi

Valerie - Member
Reaction score
I spent 3 hours redoing Gimpy's NIC cage. I had been noticing he hadn't been using his second level for the past 6 months or so. He used to spend a lot of time up there, usually sleeping all day up in the corner next to my desk. But I think I've seen/heard him go up there maybe 4 times in the past few months. Not sure why. Maybe now that he is a bit older(he's going to be 6 in Jan) he doens' t like using the ramp as much. Who knows. Anyhoo, I thought it was time to change it and maybe make it easier for him to get up there. So I took everything apart and gave him a new second level. It took longer then I thought it would but turned out really nice.

Here is what his cage looked like before. It had a full second level with a ramp to get up.

grandpa002.jpg

grandpa003.jpg

And here is the new L shaped second level with a step up, instead of a ramp.

grandpa005.jpg

Its hard to believe but thats the same color of carpet in all the pics, lol. The first 2 pics have 6 years of rabbit fur ground into it though, lol. Only issues I had making it were that I ran out of black zip ties towards the end and had to finish with white. I'll be redoing those later.

Gimpy isn't too sure of his new home yet. He hasn't tried to go on the step or the second level. The most he did was put his paws on the step and look up at the second level. He's also left me lots of little poop and pee piles all over to let me know how much he loves it :foreheadsmack:

Looks great! That's really similar to my set up actually, but my top level is solid except for the step portion and I have a vertical grid to help support the step as well.
Try putting something on the top that Gimpy likes like some treats and see if they disappear while you're not looking.