Bonded Pair But Having Issues - HELP!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BerkleeAjax

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to all this but need a little help. I have two 15 week old bunnies. A female dwarf lionhead and a male dwarf lionhead/lop mix. They bonded at about 7 weeks just fine and have loved each other since. They were both fixed about four weeks ago and everything seemed to go fine. But I’ve been noticing (or at least it seems to me) that my female is getting smaller, losing weight (?) and isn’t as spunky as she once was. It’s so hard to tell because she does hop around a little bit, still grooms herself and seems to eat. One of the things that I noticed though was that the male (AFTER getting fixed) seems to try and mount her a lot and she isn’t thrilled with it. She allows it, but… When I’ve tried to give them celery leaves or other things as a treat they like, she puts her nose up. He eats like crazy. She just seems OFF and last night I was beginning to think that maybe it was the male and he was terrorizing her.

I decided last night to have my daughter her bring the female back into the bedroom she lived in before the male appeared and where her hutch used to be and see if she’d hop around more. She seemed to like that room. Sure enough she hopped around and curiously explored all over and seemed herself. I had my daughter put her in the little hutch by herself in her bedroom overnight to give the female a break from the male. She actually ate and ate and ate, ate all the celery leaves and other treats we left and stayed at her food bowl for a long time. She seemed so much happier. This morning when she came out she ran and binkied all over the room. She was herself again. Not so the male. While in their condo by himself last night he didn’t touch the food, or the hay. Nothin. He was bummed without the female.