Beds for Rabbits?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Luluznewz

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to this whole housing a bunny thing. I was wondering what bunnies like to sleep on. Lulu lives in a cage (the door is open all day when I'm home, which is a lot of the time)and I covered the bottom with a plastic material that is supposed to line shelves to keep glasses from slipping. It is a little softer on her feet than straight plastic and is easy to remove and clean. However, it doesnt look very comfy to nap on.

So I made her a cute little hut out of a cardboard box and lined it with a blanket. She likes the box, (shes in there now lying down and watching me type) but she kicked the blanket out.

Because its sort of cold here I put a low heat heating pad under the cage where the nest box is (my household is REALLY skimpy with heat, I go around with a sweatshirt most nights). I'm in California, so you know, nothing freezes and its not THAT cold, but was this a good idea? She seems to like it...

Also, is she okay sleeping on the hard surface or should I try something besides the blanket?

I cover the bottom of my plastic cage with a piece of fleece (I bought a few yards, and cut each yard up into 3 pieces; they're the perfect size for lining the bottom of the cage and easy to wash every week). He loves them for the traction and hates to walk in his cage without a fleece, but when he sleeps he pushes it aside and sleeps on the cold plastic. Haha. Seems like many buns prefer a cool hard surface to sleep on, though I know of some who like a soft surface. I bought a little cat bed thing, but he has never used it and it just took up space in his cage.