baby bunny won't eat pellets?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xbr0k3nx

Reaction score
Hello,
I am very new to bunnies.
I just bought a 5 week old, 1/2 dwarf 1/2 english spot bunny on Tuesday.
I can't get ahold of the breeder i bought him from, to ask her what she fed him.

Sammie has access to hay 24/7, as he eats it constantly, which is good, and he drinks water all the time as well.
But for some reason, he won't touch his pellets at all.

My mother bought two large bags of rabbit food, one is called Hagen Original Blend Rabbit Pellets - Suitable for Dwarf Rabbits, and the other is called Living World Classic for Rabbits. I would really hate to see both of these new bags of food to go to waste.
Anyone have an ideas on how to get my little guy to start eating pellets?

And how do i get my bunny to start drinking water out of his water bottle, instead of the water dish, that he keeps spilling constantly?

Please, all your help and advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for your time.

First, unlimited hay is good--you may want to use alfalfa as it is much higher in calcium which they need for the first few months for bone growth. Vegetables are also a good thing to give, although, in a small amount depending on size. We have a couple of bunnies that won't eat pellets at all, and, they are doing just fine. The others want to eat nothing but pellets, so they get a measured amount so that they have to eat hay--the older rabbits all get Timothy hay. Keep trying to get a hold of the breeder. In the meantime, check out house rabbit society--I think they may have feeding tips and a list of vegetables that are good for your fur baby.

First of all- 5 weeks old is way too young for a rabbit to be weaned and leave the rabbitry. Here in PA, we actually have a law that states that rabbits and poultry cannot be sold under the age of 8 weeks.