Babies...alomost 3 weeks old!!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

darlenenicole

Reaction score
Does anybody know anything about weening babyrabbits and when are they weened? Also, when should i separate thebabies...meaning..when do they become sexually mature..

I noticed some of them are munching on some hay here andthere..are they just experimenting or are they going to be weened soon?

I'm not a professional with breeding rabbits buti have before and i have read on this site and i think that the bunniescan be weaned around 6 - 8 weeks and i know that ihave read that they willl become sexually mature and cn mate when just3 months old. Hope this helps

Robert

Hi Darlenenicole,

When the kits reach the age of 5 to 8 weeks, they're ready to beweaned. By 8 weeks, they're used to pellets, hayand drinkingwater and after that point and can be placed away from their mom. Thedoe could use the break because it's work on the body to producemilk. It's not a bad idea to take outthe boys atone point and then the girls because it gives the mother's milk achance to slowdown. Between 11-14 days,they'll start nibbling on pellets. At 12 weeks old, theyshould be separated because of reaching their sexualmaturity. You may keep the rabbits you've weanedtogether, separated by sex, until about 4 months, at which time theyneed to be totally separated - one rabbit per cage.

-Carolyn

what kind of babies? when can we all see pics???

:p

baby bunnies are the best!!! I've been out with Bubby a couple times today, just can't stay away!

Rose

Rabbitgirl..i dont have any pics yet but i will have my boyfriend take some and post them..i have no idea how to do it!!!

Thanks Carolyn for the info.Do you know about when to tell ifthey are male or female. I know what to look for i just dont know when!!

TootsieRoll wrote: