Aggressive Bunny

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OhTisLove

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to bunnies...as in, I've had my first bun for exactly two days now! I've been doing lots of research, but am still going to have lots of questions, so bear with me.

I have an eight week old Checkered Giant female. She was the friendliest of the bunch when I picked her out, and likes to interact with people. Hops right out of her cage to visit and run around the room.

Anyway, last night she was out hopping around while I was cleaning her cage. (Big NIC cage, three panels by four, three levels...she has lots of room!) She was across the room but must have been keeping an eye on me, because while she didn't mind me messing with the rest of the cage, when I reached for her food dish (which is RIGHT near the door, since I read that you shouldn't reach into the cage much if the rabbit is in there, so I wanted easy access) she sprinted over and....boxed? my hand. Lots of clawing and growling. I don't think she bit me. I immediately snatched my hand away (with the food dish) and shut her into the cage. I didn't give the food dish back right away...I went to brush my teeth first so that she didn't associate receiving more food with her naughty behavior. She had no issue with me putting the dish back in, of course!

Is there something that I can do about this? Should I make sure she's out of the room when I touch her food dish? (Although this is not really an ideal situation, as I rush around in the morning and don't have time to let her bounce around in other rooms just so I can fill her food dish.) She hasn't displayed any other aggressive behavior so far, and she hasn't seemed to mind me touching the dish while she's in the cage. Did she just get panicky about me moving stuff while she wasn't there?