Won't stop scratching

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Offspring2099

Reaction score
I pretty sure that we gave Penny a PenG injection a little too high on her back. Well now she won't stop scratching herself. When we realized what was happening, there is a spot of about two inches of fur GONE and there is a blood stop.

I'm not sure what to do. Let her scratch it?

Is there an emergency animal hospital that you can call?

If it were my case, I don't think I'd have them scratch it.. but I wouldn't know if that'd be the right thing to do. Because there's a slight open wound, I wouldn't want something to get in there. There's an animal emergency hospital here open 24/7, and they offer advice over the phone.

I really wouldn't know what advice to give.. since I'm not comfortable writing about something I have no experience in. Sorry =[

There should be some advice in this link:

Self Mutilation

Oddly enough I was just looking at it last night thinking we should shore up the summary, links to include problems with injection sites.

Hope you find some relevant info.

sas :clover:

Pixie,

THanks for responding. She stopped for now, but I'm sure that is still itches. I just wanted to know if I need to help treatin it (the wound). I'm still kinda woried that when i go to bed, she'll go at it again. I can call the em. vet but im sure they'll want to see her and that's an hour away at least.

Thanks Pipp. I think I'll wait till the morning and maybe give her some pain killers if she doesn't stop. I haven't seem her scratch it for a while, but it doesn't mean she stopped. Oh man it looks horrible. Like a blood patch.

Ugh, that can be serious, they are SO prone to infection.

I'd put some Neosporin or Betadine or Silvadine or something on it tonight. (What have you got?)