Will rabbits return to their hutch on their own?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kukupecpec

Reaction score
I recently built a new run for my chickens that includes the rabbit hutch. They have always loved hanging out underneath the rabbits because the buns have a misting system so it's nice a cool down there.
I was wondering if I built a ramp for Bugsy and Red out of their hutch and into the chicken run (which is fully enclosed, safe from predators) if they would return to their hutch on their own, or if they would just do whatever. I'm still new to rabbits so I'm not super familiar with their behavior.

I would love to give them the extra space to run around on like the energetic bunnies they are! But their food and water will still be in the hutch so the chickens can't get to it.

This is their hutch - lots of changes have been made since this picture including the bunny inhabitants, but you can see the general build of the hutch, the underside is now all enclosed and attached to the chicken run so the ramp would lead under their hutch
IMG_20130510_092037_333.jpg

Bugsy and Red =)
IMG_20130918_122238_326.jpg

I don't know if they'd come back but I expect they will as long as their food and water are there. Would the rabbits be running around with the chickens or separately?

I keep the door to Sophie's condo open pretty much all day and into the evening. She almost always goes back in herself, which is usually around midnight or 1am. I'm not sure if them being outdoors would change that or not. I think as long as they have their food and water in the hutch and it feel safe to them, they would return. Unless you had no fence lol.