When to start bonding

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

okiron

Reaction score
So I have no experience in bonding rabbits. Lumi and Nilla were sheer luck. I got them from the animal shelter, I threw them in the same carrier on the ride home and tada they didn't kill each other. (Yeah, knew nothing about rabbits then) Lilith and Chubbs were littermates so got along from the get go. My other buns were all loners.

I'm seriously considering getting Lumi a friend. She's been alone since late 2007. I've been reading all the material on bonding rabbits but the one question I have is when? Should I start the same day I bring the bun home? Wait a couple days? Wait a week? Month? And by start I mean just put their cages 1 foot apart so they can smell, see and hear each other but not get to each other. I'll work on it gradually obviously, I just wondered if I should start them in different rooms while the new bun adjusts to his new surroundings or not.

Hi Rina,

It depends if the buns are neutered. If you get a baby bun, I wouldn't recommend beginning the bonding before you neuter/spay him/her, and a few weeks after to let the hormones die down.
If you DO manage to bond them before the new one is fixed (which could be unlikely, due to high hormone levels etc.), then once you do fix them, it could totally wreck the bonding and you may have to start all over again.

If it is a neutered/spayed bun (eg. from a rescue), then you can begin bonding whenever you like.
Let your bun settle in first, I think- they will probably be stressed and confused, and would perhaps not make for great first impressions. However, in saying that, it could be good to immediately bring them into the world of your other bun, and so they are in totally new territory, and perhaps won't be so territorial- because it's not their territory- it has already been claimed by Lumi.