URGENT - What to feed new 3 week old baby

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angela

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I hesitate to post this because I know that I've done a pretty risky thing. Last night I brought home a 3 week old baby bunny (precisely, 23 days old). I live in Thailand and finding an 6-8 week old baby (or older) for sale is as rare as hen's teeth. Most places sell their babies at 3-4 weeks of age and if you choose to wait until they are older, in most cases they have all been sold already.

So, I now have this new baby. I am new at breeding bunnies but do have some limited experience. Unfortunately none of my does are with kits at the moment so I can't foster him to anyone. And I don't know anyone else raising bunnies.

He's very active, inquisitive and affectionate. He looks very healthy - clean nose and bottom, and his teeth look good so far. Since last night he's been doing 'binkies'
and has eaten some hay, oats and drunk some water.

My question is this - should I give him some supplemental feeding with kitten replacer milk or at 3 weeks old is it SAFER to give him only pellets, oats, heaps of hay and water?

I don't want to lose him. I've bought him specifically to add to my small breeding program. I'm looking for the safest option forward for this little guy.

I'll post photos of him shortly.

Many many thanks.....Angela

THANK YOU FOR YOUR REPLY!!! :):):)

I've been online all day just waiting for someone to reply to my post.

I'm off right now to buy the required ingredients.

Blessings

I'm not sure if they will sell KMR here in Thailand, but I do happen to have on hand some Bearing Cat Milk with Taurine. The protein is 20%. The box says milk replacer for growing kittens.