Torn and need some advice

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StukOnU

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum but I am also new to rabbit owning. I love it, never realized how deeply I would love it. Well long story short two rabbits that I rescued ( one from a farm about to be sold for food, another from a neighbor who let it loose because they didn't want it anymore) in any case as a newbie I thought they were the same sex and they weren't because she had a litter Needless to say they are fixed now. However, they are so close to there kids, they sleep together and literally eat together. Well I am torn I know friends of mine that want them but I just can't see separating them. It's not a matter of getting them all fixed because I will save enough money for that. It's just I feel like I am ripping them from there mom and dad and siblings. I know it sounds silly but it seriously makes me sad, should i just let them go while people want them , keep them - or is it to crazy ( I have 6 total now!) and if I give them up should I make people take a pair so they always have a companion, ugh soooo sad and confused , I look at there little faces and I only want the best for them so not sure what to do? Thanks

Jeanine

Do you have the time and space for the entire rabbit family? If you do, and you want to keep them, then keep them. It reads like you want them to stay together because they like it, not because you want them. Any animal will adjust after being seperated from their litter/family but if you don't want the buns to go through that then keep them. However, I'd feel worse if I kept all of them and then realized after they had be together longer that I wanted to rehome some - then it would be harder on the bunny I think. Good luck with whatever you choose