Tonights the night

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dreamgal042

Reaction score
tonight's the night im going to pick up my newbunny :) apparently, a little black dwarf. ill post pictures as soon asi can. my question is, and id preferably like the answer from someonewhos had experience with this, how to introduce the new bun to Ivory. iwas assuming id let one of 'em roam the room, while holding the other,but I dont know who to hold, and who to let approach. they're bothboys, and both, as far as i know, unaltered. i have a seperate cage setup for the new guy, and we're gonna get a new food bowl, new waterthingy, and a new carrying case for the two of 'em. any othersuggestions from anyone about this arrangement?

I have no experience in introducing new rabbits so I'll let someone else answer that ;)

I'm so excited for you though and I can't wait to see pictures!! :D

I would keep one of the buns in a confined areawhere it is unable to reach the other bun. Even if you were to beholding one or the other they could still get into a fight with you inthe middle. In the beginning it is best to just let them sniff oneanother through a fence, cage bar, etc. If that seems to go well withno fighting between the bars then I would feel ok with introducingthem. I would give them a week or so of just getting used to having anew rabbit around and let your new guy have a chance to settle inbefore introducing the possible stress of another bun.

Once you feel comfortable with meeting you should place them both inneutral territory like the bathtub. Then it is just up to you tosupervise and make sure everyone gets along. If there is any fightingyou must seperate them immediatly.

Also take into account that two unaltered males almost never get along.Good luck with the new little one, can't wait to see pics!!

Fergi's mom