They're here....

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeniseJP

Reaction score
Juno has a nestbox with six live kits by WR's Segal... despite having a broken x broken litter, I have three solid blacks (?), and three broken torts upon first glance - (no charlies but one is missing its nose butterfly, I think...). Can that happen - broken to broken producing solids? I guess it can happen as Juno was with no other buck other than Segal, I saw the breeding happen and her cage is not adjacent to anyone else... I did not think broken to broken could produce solids but it has been a while since I have been breeding and I am no genetics expert by any means. I am thrilled to have solid blacks as I love black Hollands... it will be fun to watch them grow.

Did not take pictures as it is cold in the barn this evening and ony took the kits out to count what was there and to make sure the nestbox was clean and dry and warm (it was). It is supposed to be warmer so when Juno gets her treat I will try to get a picture on my new grooming table... and of Brielle and Hope.

Brielle is a character - she knows a half binky will get me squealing and rippin' rabbit gets attention and then she will flop her ears to make sure she has my attention.

Got kisses (not chomps) from Grace and Calliope tonight - I did not have any Yogies left so they got a pinch of oats and ran up to rub their noses on me... could have gotten my first nose piercing if Grace was not in a good mood...

Denise

Yeah, as for as genetics go you can produce solids from brokens if in the past thier line has had solids.

Broken is a dominant gene - two broken genes will produce a charlie, one broken gene with one solid gene will produce a typical broken bun, and two solid genes will produce a solid bunny.