Somebody suggested I post here

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

birdlover

Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm totally new to bunnydom but am already learning a lot here and from the vet I recently took him to. I know absolutely nothing about Bunnykins background (I haven't picked a permanent name yet; Bunnykins is just til I do) but the vet thinks he's between 3 and 7 years. She said it's hard to tell when he's in such bad shape. He came to the farm where I work as part of a Fall Festival where animals are brought in just from end of Sept. to beginning of Nov. I believe he came from an auction. No one can tell me!!! I noticed his left eye was all goopy and that he just languished in a corner the whole time while the other bunnies seemed active. I decided to take him home and try to help him. I forgot to ask the vet for an estimate. Yikes! $255 (after the fact)!!! Anyway, she said he's a boy :biggrin2: , his heart and lungs sounded good but that he was underweight and his body was covered in scabs with a big absess over the bad eye. She thought he'd been in some kind of fight and needed to be put on antibiotics. Sooo, he was given baytril and trimethaprim-sulfa to take twice a day and antibiotic eye drops (neomycin and polymyxin) plus meloxicam for pain. The eye is pretty much healed now. One sore on his rear has been draining which the vet said is a good thing. The scabs seem to be coming off with little bits of fur. Overall, I'd say he's much better. Hope this helps anybody else with bunny issues!!!

Youre awesome for helping this little guy. Hes very lucky.

Sounds like you have a knowledgable vet, which is great since not all know a whole lot about bunnies.

How is he doing with eating? If you want to help put some weight on him theres something called Nutrical which is made for dogs and cats and it works very well for underweight bunnies.