Soft stools, crusty nipples

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
DazyDaizee wrote:
I contacted the rescue to inform about the crusty nipples. She wonders if it may be a sign of cancer. She also questioned whether the soft stools may be persistent because some recent forms of coccidia are resistant to the Albon, so we may try something else for that.
I have Marshall Probiotic. It says 100% safe for ferrets and other small animals. I assume most probiotics are the same? Can I use this for her?
I have no experience with rabbit syphillis, but from what I've read I have doubts that that's what is causing the crustiness in this case. It's not severe and it's localized to just the four upper nipples. The skin isn't irritated or inflamed. I don't know if she has something else challenging her immune system if syphillis could come about? Is it something they carry for life and become symptomatic at times of stress, or do they just have it and remain symptomatic.. or recover completely? I just don't know enough about it.

I don't think it's a parasite or infection because she's not itchy and the skin looks health underneath. The crustiness easily flakes off. It's yellowish in color and loosely caked around the entire nipple. There's not a huge amount of it, but it's definitely noticeable. I actually felt it when I picked her up and my hand hit the right spot.

This is such a frustrating case because vet care/funds are limited and it's a strange mixture of symptoms without an obvious impact on her overall wellbeing.
I thought you were giving a probiotic called marshalls' which is not the same as benebac??

DazyDaizee wrote: