Reasons for Small Poops? Diagnosing in hindsight?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MiaP

Reaction score
I am new to bunnies and fostering a bunny for the shelter where I volunteer. Any insight about this will be appreciated, and no information is "too basic" for me.

Silver was at the shelter for just a few days, and in that time she lost weight. She is a small rabbit, she should weigh 3 to 4 pounds, and on the day I brought her home to foster, she weighed only 1.5 lbs. Spine was really visible, sides looked thin and collapsed. Her nose was wet and rusty-colored, although it is supposed to be white.

Inspection by the vet tech at the shelter suggested that "her entire GI tract" felt empty, and she showed no interest in the rabbit chow pellets or very awful hay provided in her cage. I offered her a bit of apple, and she did eat that, which I took as a good sign.

All the poops in her cage looked very tiny, like 1/3 the size of typical poops.

I brought her home to foster.

At home, I gave her small amounts of fresh food and good hay throughout the day. Her nose was dry within 24 hours. She was always very interested in new food when it arrived, but rarely ate it all. Her poops stayed small for several days.

Now, her poops are normal sized. She eats tons and has gained a visible amount of weight. She doesn't look scary any more, but I wouldn't call her plump yet. Her nose has stayed dry and is white now, though it stayed rusty looking for several days, even when it was dry.