Raisins as a treat?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kimmerre

Reaction score
I'm curious what are the best treats for a bun. I've tried apples, bananas, lettuce (now know it's not good for them anyway), and my bun doesn't like any of them. She loves carrots but I only give her a baby carrot every once in awhile since they are high in sugar. I've bought the Kaytee Fiesta which was a mix of rose hips, papaya, and raisins and she LOVED the raisins. She never ate the rosehips so I don't want to buy it again but I'm wondering if general raisins that come in the little boxes for kids are okay for a bun. Any ideas?

My bun is a 1 year old, spayed, female lionhead.

[by the way I'm new to this, but SO glad I stumbled across this because it's very helpful :)]

Lettuce is fine as a staple fresh green, except iceberg lettuce which lacks nutrtional value.

Raisins are very sweet, so you can give them as treats but in moderation. I think the case was with a baby bun with it's own complications but we had a member on here months ago where a young girl's bun passed away overnight after feeding her bunny 10 raisins in one sitting. 10 is a lot for a bun, in my opinion. A couple a day might be just fine as a treat, but not in combination with other sugar rich treats like banana and papaya the same day.

I think a little bit of carrot is much lower in sugar than a raisin, if you're looking for the healthiest treat. But yes, raisins can be fed as a treat. I wouldn't feed more than 1-2 per day.

She's so picky about treats. She loves carrots, dried carrots, raisins, coconut (it comes mixed with the dried carrots from Kaytee), and yogies (which I'm reading on a different thread that might not be good).

Yogurt anything isn't good for bunnies as they can't digest dairy. Have you tried other types of dried fruit? I look for the no sugar added stuff.