Rabbits--are they bottomless pits?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MiaP

Reaction score
I am new to rabbits, so please pardon my utter lack of knowledge. I have one bunny and one foster bunny right now, and I am just amazed at the amount they eat. I don't know if I am doing things right, so please feel free to set me straight.

I am supposed to keep food available to them at all times, right? I feed pellets, timothy hay, and fresh produce. I have had guinea pigs for years, and my rabbits are small--about 2x the size of my pig, so I guess I expected that they would eat about 2x as much.

Well, even though I am home most of the day, I am having trouble keeping enough food in their cages to last them even a few hours. With my pig, if we fill her bowl with pellets and give her 3 or 4 giant handfuls of hay, a carrot and some greens, she is set until dinner time. She'll eat the produce first, then the hay, and if she gets desperate, the pellets. With these two bunnies, all the food is gone within two hours, at the most.

Am I just supposed to get a bigger bowl for pellets, or put in way more hay, or what? We are all very happy to deliver fresh produce throughout the day, but I am worried about how to manage the food situation on days when we'll be gone for long periods--like most folks with jobs are 5 days a week.

My foster bun, Silver, is underweight so I really don't want her worrying about food, but for the long haul, I don't want them to be dangerously obese, either.

Tips, advice, anything?

The rule of thumb is more hay, and hay and then a little more hay.

The pellets should not be given free feed unless they are still growing (ie 6 months or less). I can't remember the proper amount, but I feed my guys (3-7 pounds) 1/4 to 1/3 cups of pellets a day. And lots and lots of hay plus their veggies.

--Dawn