Rabbit kit care, need help/advice

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gary17

Reaction score
Hello, I am kinda new to rabbits and have some questions.

I have had a couple adult males for about 3 years so I know how to care for adults, but my wife got a female and put her in the cage with my males.Kinda thought it was OK since it was winter, didnt think they would breed in winter, a friend said they wouldnt... So I the female got pregnent and I didnt find out until today when I opened there hutch to for there 2 week cleaning, there were 4 live babbies and 3 dead ones. They must be just barely 2 weeks old becuase there eyes are open. So long storie short, what should I do?

I removed the males from her pen, but should I leave them out there? Im in Michigan, and while the winter has been kinda mild I'm afraid the cold may kill the rest of them. But I'm also afraid to move the mother with the young in the house, she's kinda jumpy and Im afraid the stress will make her harm the kits, and I'm also afraid to bring them in by there selves because I dont know how to hand raise the babies.

Advice?

Hi and welcome!

I moved this thread into the Rabbitry for you- more breeders read this section.

I've never raised babies, but the article at the top of the Rabbitry forum will take you through the basics. For now, all I can recommend is providing lots of hay for the babies to snuggle into. They will help keep each other warm.

So sorry about your lost ones.

:purplepansy:

Hi! I started a post to you earlier and then my computer locked up and I lost it. :?

First of all - taking the bucks out was a great decision.....:D