Rabbit is making a nest

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

India

Reaction score
Hi

I am a newbie, to the forum.

I have 3 lovely rabbits.

I think one of my rabbits may be pregnant, though, we accidentally let my female rabbit out with my male rabbit, 3 weeks ago, and they mated, my male rabbit, made this loud grunting noise, and fell off when he had finished mating, is this normal.

Anyway, I fed the rabbits this morning and my female, was going frantic making a nest, she had loads of hay and straw in her mouth, making a nest, she was digging and going mad, making a hole in the middle of the hay.

It looked very professional. Could she be having babies soon. It will be 3 weeks Sunday, since she was accidentally mated.

I am getting my male rabbit neutered next week, my female was due to be spayed the same day, but if shes pregnant, that wont be happening. My female is nearly 7 months old, and mymale is nearly 6 months old.

Hi there and welcome to RO!:wave:

The gestation period for rabbits is about 31 days, though they can kindle a few days before or after this. If she's not even 3 weeks gone this seems a bit early to be building a nest, maybe she's having a phantom pregnancy?

I'm no expert though, sohopefully a moderator will come along soon and move this to the rabbitry section where breeders are more likely to see it and give you better advice than me :)

All does are different in their nest building practices. Wildfire would build a new nest just about everyday from two weeks onward in her pregnancy. She would build some really cool looking ones, some complete with roofs!

Provide her with a nest box and lots of hay/straw to build a nest with. Normally they give birth on about day 30, but it can be anywhere from day 28 -34.

It sounds like a succesful mating, as males will grunt and fall off when they are done the deed. So he's fine.