Question about cage size?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello,
I am going to try to make this short and cut to the point. Basically, the only table I could use for a cage is a square that could fit nothing larger than a 30½ inch by 30½ inch cage.
Because I am new to Bunnies, I have no clue whether that would be super small or just fine.

I am interested in Holland Lops, but have read conflicting information on their adult size. Some have said 3-4lbs, others 8lbs.

I also like the Mini Rex, but am not sure on their adult size.
Either way, can I house anything in a cage 30x30 inches?
Thank you so much!!

P.S. I am able to take the bunny outside of the cage for exercise, so it wouldn't be cramped up all day long. Thanks again!

You may want to consider a cage that is on the floor. Bunnies typically do not like being picked up because they are prey animals. Many times it is easier to have a cage that you can open the door and let them come and go as they please.

If you are interested in alternatives to cages there are NIC cubes which are flexible, much cheaper, and super easy to put together (just zip ties, no tools needed). Just something to think about. Good luck :)

Small space might be tricky. If you are good at building you can always build up and make multi-levels, but 30" x 30" is really pushing the lower bounds in my mind. Then again with many levels and plenty of out of cage time it could work. Litter boxes, water and feeding areas, hiding places, hay, toys and the like all take up a lot of room. I would also be sure the bunny can COMPLETELY stretch out and lay down, as well as stand on its hind legs.

Why are you using a table? Is it a convenience thing, or is it a space issue? If you put plywood on the table (and held it down) it could get much larger.