Possibly breeding my bunny

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

itoshiixhito

Reaction score
I bought my rabbit Maaya from Kate, a breeder I know through a mutual friend in Turlock, CA in 2008.

I'm having a problem finding a vet in the area who will spay her that doesn't charge $250+ (I'm a poor college student :tears2:)

So I emailed Kate to see if she had any recommendations. I included a current picture of Maaya, and for the heck of it, I asked for some pics of Maaya's parents.

Turns out both her mommy and daddy passed away :(

Kate asked if I was interested in breeding Maaya once so she could continue the bloodline. Or if I'd want to trade her for a new baby bunny.

I said I definitely don't want to trade her because she's my baby, but I might be interested in breeding her once.

If I decide to breed her, I asked if I would be able to borrow one of her cages (since it has a nesting box and everything), and keep her at my house for the gestation. I really don't like the idea of being apart from her for a long time :(

I mentioned the idea to my dad, and he insisted that I'm entitled to some money since I have the doe.

But instead of getting money for the babies, I asked Kate if she would be willing to help me pay for Maaya to get spayed after her litter, since I need to get that done either way.

Do you guys think I'm being pushy for even asking for anything?
Am I even entitled to anything since I bought my doe from her originally?

And if I do breed her, do you guys have any tips for me?
Like how to handle her so I don't accidentally hurt the babies, or if I should be adding something extra to her diet?