One Bunny or Two? Help!!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SweetSassy

Reaction score
My Sweet Sassy passed away. So I'm looking into getting a baby rabbit. But I don't know if I should get one or two? Are they happier with a friend? Can someone help me. I'm new to rabbits. Sassy was my first bunny. So I don't know a whole lot.

Thanks for your help, April:mrsthumper:

So sorry about Sassy. But I'm glad you are getting yourself more buns. I think 2 rabbits are great if they are brought up together and they're the same age. It might be easier to bond but that's just what I have read. I had kirby for 6 months as an adopted adult bun before deciding to get a baby bun to try to bond with him. I have read happy bonded buns live longer together than apart. Even though they haven't bonded yet, my Kirby seems more perked up and engaged with another bunny in the home

Be prepared though. Babies are a handful. I have been exhausted since Toby's arrival. Babies are hyper and squeeze into all kinds of spaces. Rabbitnproofing is a must. Litter box training takes patience. It's unbelievably worth it though because they are so bouncy and loveable.

We're going Saturday to pick out our baby bun. He has plenty, so if we want two. I'd like to get 2 females, I think. (They will be spayed or neutered) He has Mini Lop Dwarf Mix and Netherland Dwarfs. I don't know if I want one of each or 2 Mix if he has 2 females. I have a huge NIC cage for them. I think the only thing I need to bunny proof is my cords. Been reading up on litter box training but I'm not understanding that. I'm leaning toward getting 2. I'll just keep reading up, the next couple days. THANKS! :biggrin2: