New to Rabbits and Pregnant Does having arising issues!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Giraffly

Reaction score
Story time, some background information:
You can skip this and go to the TL;DR (Too long;Didn't Read) portion below.
This information is a bit graphic, these rabbits were in very upsetting conditions and not for the faint of heart to read!

Hello there, my name is Hana and I work as a dog groomer in Israel at a local Pet Supplies and Pet Shop store. Throughout my years of working there, they got rabbits during my one off year when I went to volunteer for the government. When I returned I was shocked and appalled at the inhumane treatments these rabbits were getting!

The females were perpetually pregnant since they were housed with a buck, and their litters died overnight because it was so cold at the store along with the fact that the rabbits were kept outside in a larger enclosure during the day (through all seasons mind you; heat of summer or cold of winter) so any nesting attempts they made during that time were worthless. The kits would be born underfoot of about 4 rabbits in total, and trampled and scratched up and dead by the time anyone found them at 9 am when the store opened.
It was a horrible and sickening treatment.
Each rabbit was so frail and sickly, their fur was clumpy and thin, and they were so skittish and scared of humans.

There was no proper separation between bucks either, and if someone made the mistake of putting ALL the rabbits out at once, the bucks would be covered in painful scabs about the size of my thumb by the end of the day, leaving blood trails everywhere.

There are two distinctions I should make about the rabbits at work: