More questions?????

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lesliedave4k

Reaction score
Should the babies be very wriggly? They are very active and one in particular is constantly moving? Should I be concerned? Also, because we had no warning about the pregnancy, we made her nesting box out of cardboard. Should I change this?

Thank you,

Leslie

Wriggly is good and normal I would say. I am no expert but have had two litters this year. Both lots were very wriggly and even make little noises every now and then. They would 'pop' around the nest like popcorn as they got older too.

My girls nest had cardboard in it also and I just removed it and replaced it when the babies were around a week old. Also I removed any damp hay but tried to keep as much of the fur as possible.

How are you doing? How's the mum bunny?

From what I've read, that sounds healthy. :) As long as they're not making 'in distress' type noises, they're probably fine. They can wiggle their way right out of the nest box, though, you have to check on them daily and plop them back in if need be.

You have to balance the wriggly anticswith the danger in having the edges TOO high wherethe mom may injure the kits if she has to jump in blind.

And as above, a cardboard box is fine, you just have to replace it when it gets yucky.

You've probably seen these, but there's a few articles in Bunny 101:

http://rabbitsonline.net/view_topic.php?id=12047&forum_id=17

I just addedanother good article on baby bunnies:

http://www.hrschicago.org/newbabyfr.html

Good luck with them all!

sas :)and the gang :bunnydance::bunnydance::bunnydance::bunnydance::bunnydance: