Maaya's spaying aftercare?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

itoshiixhito

Reaction score
It's freakin' ridiculous trying to find somewhere in Stanislaus county to get a rabbit spayed. It's like they've never heard of rabbits here. One guy I talked to said it wasn't even necessary to have female rabbits altered @_@

I called every clinic in the phone book for this county, and then whichever ones I could find online too. Only 4 or 5 places even see rabbits (one lady said they'd take a look at my horse....... I don't own a horse >_>...), and half of them wanted over $400 for it. I'm a poor college student for heaven sake!

But I
finally found somewhere local (Modesto Spay & Neuter Clinic) and reputable that isn't going to charge me an arm and a leg.

They said the whole thing will cost $120, but they don't have pain meds specifically for rabbits.

Is there somewhere else I can get the metacam? I heard there isn't a rabbit specific one. Just cat, dog, and horse I think. So I assume I'd want the cat one right, since they're about the same size?

The lady I talked to said bring food and a water bottle when I bring Maaya in. Is there other stuff I need to bring? I read about gas meds in one of the threads here. Do I need that too?

And what about after I bring her home? Do I need to have some sort of "bunny kit" put together for her? And I'm assuming she'll have stitches, so how do I keep her from pulling them out?

I apologize for the bombardment of questions. I'm just really anxious because I've never had an animal altered, Maaya's my baby and I want to make this go as smoothly as I can for her =/

Mrs. PBJ wrote:
I would have gas meds and her favorite veggies.

I had a whole list of stuff here is Jessi's thread she is a week out tomorrow and completely back to normal.

http://rabbitsonline.net/view_topic.php?id=56170&forum_id=16&page=1