Lucky - a rabbit who narrowly escaped a gruesome death

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bassetluv

Reaction score
This is an older story, but when I stumbled across it, it had me shaking my head in disbelief. Unfortunately animal cruelty cases are exceedingly common, but thankfully this bunny was (for the most part) unharmed and found a new home. The story is a prime example of people regarding animals as *things*, why they are often prime targets for cruelty and torture because of such thinking (e.g., because one of the offenders saved four human lives the summer previous in his role as a lifeguard, his father stated that people should not judge him too harshly...as if this should negate the action of severe cruelty to an animal), and why I've been wishing for so many years that punishment involved in animal cruelty cases be severe. In many cases the offender gets a slap on the wrist and nothing more. Even though many places have raised fines/charges in animal cruelty, the full extent of the law is still not applied often enough. And while there will always be differing opinions as to animals and their importance, their feelings, and their relevance to humans in general, they will always need protection from those who do not - or cannot - see them as sentient. May that protection some day be much stronger. (My two cents...)

CASTRO VALLEY
Lucky bunny escapes explosive demise
Huge firecracker taped to rabbit -- owner charged
Henry K. Lee, Chronicle Staff Writer

Thursday, July 29, 2004

Lucky the rabbit is living up to her name, no thanks to her college- bound owner, who with his friends is accused of taping her to a powerful explosive and tossing her into a Castro Valley lake.
Luckily for Lucky, nothing blew up and her owner fished her out of the water because, he told The Chronicle, he didn't want her to drown.