Litter training and stained paws

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

QueenMab

Reaction score
Hello,
my bunny Emilio just came home, he's a plush lop, 7 weeks old. I live in a flat with balcony, he lives in his cage (900x500mm). He's not using his litter tray, he just poos and pees all over his cage. He also have yellow stained feet (he was already like that when I picked him up), how can I clean his paws without causing damage?
In the litter tray I use recycled paper and hay as suggested.
Apart from that he's very sweet, he likes to be cuddled and he's curious, I love him!
I can't wait for him to start hopping around!

I'm not really good at math, is 900x500mm really big? @.@ the key is to start of in a small area and whenever he has accidents outside the litter box, pick up his poo and throw them in (the litter box) so he learns that he has to go there to do his business. My boys have stained feet too, a result of negligence on the breeder's part (allowing them to sit, eat and sleep in their pee).

whenever I'm cleaning them I simply carry them up and gently clean their pads with puppy wipes. they won't like it at first but I'll give them treats after to tell them that cleaning won't hurt them and if they behave, they get treats. it helps, they come running begging for me to clean them haha :D

We use unscented baby wipes for cleanups. Ours all have a pan in the back left corner, except for Peter--he moved his to the right front corner, so that's where it stays. Just a matter of finding the right spot.