Letter from a Shelter Manager

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snuggys Mom

Reaction score
If this should go in "Off Topic" could a moderator please move it?

This was posted in the "Best of Craiglist". It was not written by me.

YOU SHOULD ALL READ IT. Everyone who wants a pet should know exactly what happens
if they decide they can't keep their pet anymore. Not all shelters are exactly
the same, but this was written by a shelter manager, and I appreciated the post:

"I am posting this (and it is long) because I think our society needs a huge
"Wake-up" call. As a shelter manager, I am going to share a little insight with
you all...a view from the inside if you will. First off, this is a forum to for
adoption and/or rehoming as clearly stated in the rules. All of you
breeders/sellers on craigslist should not only be flagged (and I hope the good
people on craigslist will continue to do so with blind fury), but you should be
made to work in the "back" of an animal shelter for just one day. Maybe if you
saw the life drain from a few sad, lost, confused eyes, you would change your
mind about breeding and selling to people you don't even know that puppy you just
sold will most likely end up in my shelter when it's not a cute little puppy
anymore. So how would you feel if you knew that there's about a 90% chance that
dog will never walk out of the shelter it is going to be dumped at?

Purebred or not! About 50% of all of the dogs that are "owner surrenders" or
"strays", that come into my shelter are purebred dogs. The most common excuses I
hear are; "We are moving and we can't take our dog (or cat)." Really? Where are
you moving too that doesn't allow pets? Or they say "The dog got bigger than we
thought it would". How big did you think a German Shepherd would get? "We don't