Just need some advice please (bonding with bun)

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amyyleax

Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to all of this so you are going to have to bare with me, but I have had my bunny for over a year and I'm really just on here to get some advice and ways to help him as he doesn't like being picked up yet and runs away whenever someone goes near him, some of the time he can be very loving and does let us stroke him. He has been like this since day 1 and my mum just keeps telling me that it's because he is still a baby but I am not sure if that is why.

I have tried to research many ways to try and get him to let us get close to him but I can't really find anything. As he doesn't let us pick him up I can't even cut his nails they are extremely long and I don't know if there isn't anything to help, for example, cat scratchers. So I was wondering if you know anything that could help me with both of those things as I just want him to be happy and healthy it would be much appreciated.

Thankyou

Is he an indoor rabbit? What is his housing situation? Is he neutered?

There are lots of unknowns here, so I'll speak in generalities. As for his age, he's fully adult. By 7 months of age, a rabbit is considered an adult. It is quite common and rather the norm for a rabbit to not like being picked up. Rabbits simply are not the "pick up and hold" type of pet. They do, however, generally like to be pet -- on their terms. That means there are times they won't want to be disturbed at all and times when they would like to be pet. The following link will provide more detailed ideas on how to bond with your rabbit and how to "read" his moods:
https://rabbitsindoors.weebly.com/bonding-with-your-bunny.html