Just had my girls spayed-need some advice on aftercare :)

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jordan

Reaction score
Hello,

I just had my two female rabbits spayed today. They have been home for 4 or 5 hours now, but they look like they are in pain to me. I've never had a rabbit fixed before so I'm not sure what is normal, but they have been sitting in the same places basically since I brought them home. The vet didn't give me any pain meds for them, I asked about it but the lady at the desk said they wouldn't need it. I have some metacam left over from a previous trip to the vet, should I give them a little bit or should I just let them be? I've never really been one to self medicate my pets, but to me it seems insane to cut something open, sew it back up, and then not give anything for the pain...but like I said, I've never done this before so I don't really know what to do... My main concern is that one of them hasn't eaten anything since she has been home and the other will only eat lettuce. I also have some critical care food, I could try giving them that first?:?Please Help!

Mine stayed in the same position when I brought them home because they were drugged up. However, your rabbit should have pain medication. I would call the vet and say they seem in pain and you want some pain medication. I will let a mod say whether you should give the metacam or not. How old is it?

Have you tried to hold a piece of lettuce or hay up to the rabbits mouth that hasn't eaten anything yet? I personally wouldn't use the critical care yet. It can take some time for them to start eating. But I found that if I held it up in front of their face for a few seconds, I could get them to eat something. You can also soak the lettuce in water before giving it to them. The lettuce will absorb some water so when they eat the lettuce, they are getting more water.