Jayne and Kaylee

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pbheather

Reaction score
I'm new at bunny parenting, so everything is a surprise to me.

Jayne is the oldest. He's about 5 months old. He is grey, with a white belly and chin. He's affectionate and was pretty flighty up until now. When I got Kaylee, the female, he goes between seeing her through the bars in her cage, to coming to me on my bed, my couch, in my kitchen, the bathroom, wherever I am. He either wants me to pet him, or he circles my feet. Once he circled my head (I was laying down) and was making a sound almost like clucking. And he keeps pounding his back foot on the ground in annoyance. I know he wants to get in Kaylee's cage. I'll open the top to do something, and he will try to get in at all costs. It's hormone driven. I'm getting him fixed this month, so I'm hoping he will mellow down when it comes to Kaylee.

Kaylee is the female. She is almost completely black, with small white patches, and brown around her feet. I've had her only a few days, and I'm thinking she's about 8 weeks. I got her from the same store as Jayne (the only place in the area to get a rabbit), and he was 8 weeks when I got him. I'm hoping to get her fixed during the month when Jayne is still fertile after he has been fixed. Then, I'm hoping to bond them so they can live happily every after. Anyway, she's a little aggressive, but she's mellowed out a little. She does like her forehead rubbed, but she's flighty when she's out of her cage, and freaks out a little when she's in her cage and I reach in. As Jayne is trained to dog potty pads, I am going to train her to those. She has been tearing them up, and going all over. It's almost like she's nesting. I don't know. I'm hoping she'll get the message as soon as Jayne did (he was easy to potty train).