Is it normal?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CadburysMom

Reaction score
Is it normal for a bunny to have a slightly dirty behind? Cadbury is all white on his tummy and butt and when I flip him over, he's a little dingy back there. His poops in his cage are really good - nice and solid and his "other" type of poops are fine too, not too mushy or watery. I guess I would have just assumed that he would keep himself clean, but I'm tempted to clean his rear end with a washcloth. Is this fairly normal or could there be something wrong? He's only been with us a week and he's still a baby, so maybe he's just nervous? Sorry if this is a really stupid question. I'm just brand new to bunnies so I get paranoid. He appears to be eating really good (Timothy Hay and pellets that we buy in bulk at a feed store (not sure of the brand). I haven't been able to get him to drink from a water bottle though. I have a crock with water in his cage and although I haven't caught him drinking from it, he's still pee'ing fine - my carpet can attest to that. Is there anything else I should be looking for? He seems to be acting fine - alert, affectionate, and playful when he gets his out of cage time. He doesn't seem to be afraid of anything actually. I expected the little guy to be more timid than he is.

Does he have mushy poops stuck to his behind? These uneaten caecotrophs (if he has them), are indicitive of needing a slight diet change, or an overweight bun. As he is so young, I doubt he is overweight- overweight buns can't reach round to eat their caecotrophs (the soft, dark poops that look like a mushy bunch of tiny grapes) and so just sit on them and get all poopy.