I have a question.

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CookieNCream

Reaction score
Some of you might know from this other thread that a girl I know got two rabbits.

Her mom told me that the person who sold them (for $20 each) said thatthey are 5 months old and that they won't grow big. But they aresmaller than my palm (from description)!

You all know that I'm not an expert, but one of them looks likeCookie&Cream and the other is all brown and looks like a wildrabbit. When I got Cookie&Cream and showed you guys the video,I was told that they should be about six weeks old. So I guess nowthey're over ten weeks? I don't remember the exact date. And they got aLOT bigger!

Is there breeds of rabbits that don't grow (like teacup puppies fordogs?)? Or could it be that the girl&her mom were tricked? I'mscared that if they were, and they don't like big rabbits, they mightabandon them or something. :(

Well, I do know that the dwarf breeds remain quite small (about 2lbs), but other than that, I'm not sure.

I'm going to go ahead and move this to the Rabbitry section for you, asthe people there will be much better suited to give you advice onbreeds. :)

ah thanks! never thought of that =P

yeah so again, is there such breed? maybe 3/4 size of your palm at 5 MONTHS old. thanks!

i'm not sure because i haven't really seen them, but i'll ask her....

they are completely different colors. if there's no suchbreed, the bunnies are probably about 4 or so weeks old, right? oryounger?

No, there are no rabbits that stay thattiny. Your babies are a dwarf breed, and Netherland Dwarfswould be a little bit smaller. But a 1/5-2lb rabbit would beas long as my hand, fingers included, and a 5 month old dwarf should beabout that size as they're nearly full grown.