I applied to college today.

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alexah

Reaction score
I finally did it and I'm so proud of myself! I applied to college today. This year marked 8 years since I graduated high school and it was beginning to feel like college just wasn't going to be in my future. And it was sad since my baby brother was getting ready to leave for his freshman year this coming Friday. But I did it and I feel really, really good about it.

Coming out of high school I had the acceptance letters, grades, and scholarships to go, but things happened at home and I couldn't go away because my family needed me to help pay for our living expenses. And then I got sick. And then I couldn't work and therefore couldn't afford school. And then I was sick again. But now I'm healthier than I've been in a long time and even though I'm not 100%, I am where I need to be to get there. So it was the perfect time. And I ceased it!

I'm only planning on going to a community school for the first two years because frankly the money is an issue. I am hoping some grants and financial aid will help me do what I need to, but I need to be realistic and that's what makes the most sense for me right now. I'm lucky because I think our community college (Cuyahoga County - Tri-C) is a pretty good school and offers a ton of classes and majors. I'm going to go for two years and get my pre-requisites done and then think about where I'd like to get my bachelors from. I have a lot to think about and there was some talk of me even starting this semester, but I just didn't feel like rushing was the right thing to do. So I'm' going to take a "for fun" class this semester to get back in the groove of things so I can start my actual classes in January of 2009. I'll have just turned 26. Better late than ever, right?!