Help! Sneezy/Snotty!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DyemondRabbitry

Reaction score
Alright, I've been doing this for 10 years and have NEVER had a problem like this one. I'd appreciate any and all help asap- please and thank you!

Let me first explain- I run about 15 breeding New Zealand Does. Some are red, some are white. My whites never, ever have had a problem with sneezing or snotting. What I mean by that is the white, icky snot mostly associated with snuffles. My Reds, on the other hand have now developed in some of my juniors a constant snotting that almost seems triggered by stress. Sometimes fresh air helps most of them, other times it doesn't. Only Certain rabbits are exhibiting it! My does don't snot hardly at all but now I'm seeing one red doe starting. My herd buck is almost 4 and hasn't had a sick day in his life! WHERE is this coming from? I'm to the point that everything that snots is going to be culled tonight.

Please please.. anybody that can give me any ideas.. they are so welcome. I don't want to lose my herd.

I know it's not cocidi, I'm almost POSITIVE it's not contagious because it's only certain rabbits but of course they're the best ones.. AND it's not a continual thing.. some days they look terrible and some days they look great.. I'm at my wits end.

The white snot is usually due to a bacterial infection. Most of the pathogens that cause these infections are always present in the rabbit's system at sub-pathogenic levels. It is impossible to completely eradicate the bacteria from the rabbit's system, but that doesn't mean that it is impossible for the rabbit to be healthy.