Has my rabbit given birth?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

y3cats

Reaction score
i was given 2 rabbits and told they were both males. i had noticed them mating but didnt think anything of it. i noticed a couple of days ago that one was collecting straw and building a nest so moved him/ her to another cage as have heard the male sometimes kill the babies. She started pulling hair out yesterday and building another nest. She has now stopped doin this so am wondering if she has maybe had the babies, i was told by a friend to just leave her to it and to not look in as she will reject them. is this true if not what do i do now. i am a complete novice so dont know what to do for the best.

Any advice would be great

Stacey

That isn't true about the mother rejecting them. If she will allow you to put your hand into the nest, it would be a really good idea. All of the breeders on here handle the babies daily. It gets them used to human contact and they can also keep a good check on the health of everyone.

I'm glad that the real male was removed, because he can impregnate her immediately after she gives birth. So make sure to double check the sexes of both of your rabbits if you don't have babies. Just to make sure you don't have a male/female pair.

By the way, if it is a she and she is pregnant they can build nests anytime from two weeks or right before birth.

Some good advice above!

Just to re-iterate, go ahead a touch the babies!! Put your hand in the nest and feel around. It is very important to remove any dead babies or left over placentas otherwise they will go rotten and make the other babies sick.

Did she pull fur and put that in her nest? Some does will build nests for up to two weeks before giving birth, but most only pull fur right before giving birth.