Goopy eye (Resolved)

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

randaatje

Reaction score
I am very new to buns and have had mine for about a month now. She is a 3 month old lion head and I nxoticed about a week ago that it looked like her eye was getting a little bit crusty.

Today was the first time I really had the time to be around her for any amount of time and I noticed that what was a little bit of crust around the eye was now a lot of nasty goop around her eye and there was a lot of it built up in the wool under her eye.

I trimmed up the wool around her eye and spent some time cleaning her eye with a warm wash rag - which she seemed to really enjoy.

So I guess my question is should I be worried about this?? She doesn't seem to be feeling bad and isn't acting like her eye is bothering her any. Could it be that she just got something in her eye that was causing it to run? If not, what should I do? :(

I am going threw the same thing with my baby mini rex.. She started getting alittle crusty. And now its gross.

Rabbits won't act like they're feeling bad even if they're very sick. But at her age, it's probably a minor eye infection. You can put a little Neosporin eye ointment on it, and if that doesn't work, the Vet will give you something else. (Sometimes it takes some experimenting).

If she had a bunny friend or was still with her mom, you probably wouldn't notice it, they keep each others' eyes clean. Still, its best to get it cleared up.

(And for you to clean her eye is 'grooming' her, bunnies LOVE that, consider it a bonding moment). ;)

sas :bunnydance:

Is the discharge colored at all? If clear, good, go ahead and treat. Just make note if it's yellow or green. If so, you may have to be more aggressive in treatment.;)