Getting started

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

countrybuns

Reaction score
So after this accidental litter and all of the research about what to expect when your rabbit is expecting I have decided that this is something I am passionate about and would like to start a small rabbitry. I always wanted to breed dogs "when I grow up" but then when I did grow up I lost interest in dogs beyond a pet.I have been in touch with a local breeder and she is helping me out to start with a trio of lionheads. We are just figuring out colours now as I am still learning the whole genetics thing and then I will be getting ready to make my purchases. It looks like I will be getting my buck from the ARBA nationals in May because Jennifer is going there and has offered to help me out in that way and then there is a doe from Hanna farms I am looking at (thank you Samantha) and another doe from Jennifer of Talisien. Wish me luck as I embark in this journey and I hope to continue to get advice and guidance on here. I joined ARBA on Friday too and registered my rbbitry Thomas Trio Rabbitry (it's what my husband refers to our three boys as)

Awesome :D Although the lions wouldn't have been my first choice, since they aren't recognized by ARBA and have had many set backs...but still, very cool. :D

Good luck!

I really want to see them recognized by ARBA as I love the breed and if I can have anything to do with helping towards that goal then great.

:) That's good. Find the working standard for them (if you haven't already), and always keep it in mind. The person with the COD for many of the colors failed a bunch of the colors at nationals...now they have to start over. :( So that really sucked and set them back alot. The type on the animals didn't improve among other things from the last year.