French Lop Breeding

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Which colors can't be bred together LOL Most colors in lops are compatible because there are so many varieties accepted and so few points on color.

In the Hollands, tort otters have become a problem with people crossing otters w/ non-extension colors such as tort.

If you have a question about a particular pair, we can provide you with more info on the possible outcome.

Pam

I currently have a broken chestnut buck and a solid chestnut doe. They had broken and solid chestnut babies(obviously:)) I am wondering what colors I can breed with those. I really like fawn colored French Lops, and the Opals are nice as well.

I am used to breeding Flemishes so the lop thing is totally new for me :D

I'm not too good with the colours thing, but I think that a fawn to those colours would be really nice!!

I've heard opal is hard to get correctly because they have to have the correct under-colouring or something like that...but I heard that for Mini Rex, so it might be different in Frenchies.

Emily

I was told this is an opal color and his parents were solid chestnut and solid chin and out came him

IMG_5259.jpg

IMG_5251.jpg

Best to breed Solid + Solid or Solid + Broken but NEVER Broken + Broken.
Reason why I say this is because you dont want any charlie marked buns!!
You can pretty much mix the colours! Will make for the babies to potentially put off many different varieties instead of having just one or two in the gene pool. :)
Its nice having 1 bunny the produces 3-4 different colours! :)