found a stray

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amberelizabeth

Reaction score
Well as most of you guys know I'm new to the bunny world, Layla is my first rabbit and I'm learning more all the time.

Anyways, yesterday my boyfriend who works outside all day saw a little brown/white domestic rabbit (about 3lbs) hopping around outside. long story short he caught the little guy, took him back to his house, and went and got food/hay from my house to give to him. the little guy is in a big dog crate now w/ bedding and a few toys food/water etc. he's such a sweetheart, i played w/ him all last night holding him and petting him. he's eating and pooping fine.

now, he's really dirty, i'm not sure how to go about cleaning him because he's still a little skiddish, he has a couple matts around his bum area and his furjust doesn't have that sheen to it.i want to try and keep him, do you think the localvet willclean himup when i take him today to get him checked out and for sure sexed?

the bad thing is, if him and layla don't get along i really don't have room to house another bunny in a seperate NIC cage, so i'm really hoping they can get along, if noti'm forced to take him thehumane society. :(

so any ideas on cleaning/bonding? especially since he's been out in the wild for, well i'm not toos ure how long.

Kudos on saving the little guy! The vet should be able to clip the mats off for you. Be sure to bring a fecal sample in with you so it can be tested for worms. As for cleaning, what is he dirty with? You can wipe him down with a baby wipe to get mud and such off of him. I really wouldn't be too concerned as now that he is in a cleaner place he'll be able to take care of his fur a little better. And the lack of sheen on the fur is probably due to the diet or lack thereof that he's been getting.