for my next lens

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

piperknitsRN

Reaction score
I really have to slam on the brakes for now with buying new lenses--especially since I'm still learning with the ones I already have (and oh boy, what a learning curve it is!). But, I still like to dream. I know lenses are quite individual to what you like to take pictures of and my specific needs wouldn't necessarily drive someone else's purchase. I like to take pictures of stuff I see when out on walks, but I live in a larger city where my safety is of some concern (almost makes me want to go back to a more unobstrusive point and shoot for those purposes) and I still feel a little odd/like a mugging risk with my camera, so I try to be careful when I'm out and about. It's just harder to blend into the background when you have this larger-than-usual camera hanging around your neck.

But, for the purposes of taking pictures of bunnies (who are often doing adorably cute things at a distance--at least, mine seem to) I'm thinking telephoto zoom lens... but I don't want to pay an arm and a leg (I'm on a budget--at least, when I'm being sensible about it, I am!). What would be some good choices (and maybe I'm wrong about the type of lens I'm interested in) that won't break the bank?

Lenses and budget don't really go hand in hand, unfortunately. If you get an off brand Tamron or Sigma the price (and unfortunately quality as well) is less. An 18-200 is said to be a nice lens, I have an 18-105mm 3.5 that I like. Your primes will be your sharpest lenses though, and the 1.8 will come in handy in lower light. You can get a really nice telefoto lenses with 2.8 like the 70-200mm, but its about...$2400 :)