Elder bun with growing mass *help!* (RIP)

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tinybun43

Reaction score
Hey all,

It's been about a year since I last posted. I'm a college student (pre-vet) going into my senior year. I live about 45 minutes away from school, so my mom is my bunny's caretaker the majority of the time. He get's a handful of Oxbow Timothy T, as much hay as he wants, and fresh parsley about once a day. He is also a chronic sneezer.

About three weeks ago, Tiny, my 9 year old mini-rex had developed a mass about 3-4 cm. The doctor expressed as much as he could of the mass, put Tiny on .25ml of Baytril for two weeks, and that was that. He wanted to do a biopsy to figure out what it was, but financially, my parent's have cut me off for the majority of any more of his vet bills.

In 2008 he went through renal failure and he managed to bounce back after that. Three weeks ago when he went to the vet, his bloodwork showed that his kidney values were borderline. He had lost alot of weight but was otherwise eating, drinking, pooping, hopping around just fine.

Fast forward to today. About Saturday my mom noticed that the mass had doubled in size. Today I took him to the vet. He had gained about a half of a pound, but the mass measured to be just about 7cm. It is on his shoulder, but is growing like crazy and is kind of creeping up towards his neck. Vet tried to express more, but informed me that the mass is completely solid. He said that they could try to remove the mass ($500ish) or keep on keeping on, and when the time came, to humanely euth. Otherwise, Tiny is fine. He's still running around and being his little bunny self.