Do they let taking animals on planes?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rabbitsrock_love

Reaction score
Well, I'm born in America but my parents are chinese and I recently came to China to vacation. Well, that's where I got Snowflake and when I leave, can I take Sowflake on the plane? Where will I put her? Do you need to buy an extra ticket? This is my first time taking a pet home back to the US, so I don't know how!:?And I'll miss Snowflake!

It depends on the airline. You would have to check with them to see if they allow animals in the cabin. There is usually a fee to do this. Most airlines let animals travel as cargo. They have a special climate-controlled area in cargo and an attendent to watch over them. Again, you would need to check with the airline.

I'd imagine it would cost quite a lot and be very hard to get a bunny from China and be able to bring it straight back to the US? I'm sure they have all kinds of regulations and stuff.

I too think the bigger problem would be having customs allow the bunny into the country. I know when a member moved from the UK to Canada her bunnies had to be in quarrantine at the airport for several weeks before she could take them to her home.

Well I didn't take my bunny but I know I *could* have brought her to the Netherlands from Canada. Hmm we were flying with KLM and they allowed pets in cabin up to a certain weight (specific restrictions on the carrier as well - had to fit under the seat) or they also flew them as cargo. Now, it cost 200$ per pet to fly cargo, no matter the size.

I cannot remember 100% what the requirements were but microchip and health certificate were required I believe. I don't think they needed anything else. Those were the airline regulations. Each country has its own regulations as well so you'd have to check what the US has as laws.