CPU constantly overheating.. any solutions?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spring

Reaction score
Hi there!

I'm posting this because I'm not very tech savvy and I'm facing an extremely annoying problem. With the weather warming up, this computer is constantly turning off during the day. Especially when I have a bunch of stuff opened or am watching a movie, that's usually when the computer decides to heat up and turn itself off. Very inconvenient when you are working on something!

The back fan is working since I feel air coming off the back, though can usually tell a few minutes before this thing goes out that it's going to turn off because the air coming out the back is usually warm. I haven't opened it up yet, but I'm afraid of damaging something.

Is this something best to be taken into a computer shop to get cleaned out? When I was searching online, I heard that dustandgunk can build up tocause this? It is a couple years old and to my knowledge, never been cleaned out.

Thanks!

I would try to clean it myself first if I was you. I wonder if that is really the problem though. I can't remember the last time I cleaned mine, I am sure it was a lot longer then a couple of years though. I would look online and see if something else can cause your computer to over heat. I would also make sure it is in an area that allows good ventilation. I would maybe try to put a regular fan blowing on it to try and keep it cool.

I would try that stuff first. Here it is expensive to get your computer worked on, even if it is something small. I don't know if you have Geek Squad there. But here if you call they will usually answer basic questions for free. You could call and ask them what makes a computer over heat and shut off.