Complete noob-lots of questions and Hello! :)

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dexter

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am very happy to be here. I have never owned a bunny before and I have been perusing this website as well as many others for the last few days. I am hoping that the questions I still have can be answered. I can be a bit neurotic at times so please bear with me and I do realize some answers to my questions will be subjective and that's fine. :)

First, here is a picture of my Dexter
DSC00140-1.jpg

I am not sure what kind of bunny he is, I will post in the right subsection, unless someone can tell me here?

He is 8 months old, and he has never had hay (until my husband and I started feeding it to him). Same with veggies and fruit. Now I know he only needs fruit in small doses. But since he's never had either until now, I have read you should introduce veggies to them slowly. I have been giving him bok choy this week and he LOVES it. Should I keep giving him the same veggie for a week and then change it up? Right now we feed him Kaytee Forti Diet for juvenile bunnies, about a cup of veggies, unlimited Timothy hay and one or two small pieces of papaya every other day. He weighs 2.5 lbs. Is this enough? Too much? We have had him since July 18, 2011. I know he's 8 months old, should we be feeding him alfalfa stuff still or is he old enough to be not eating that anymore?

Also, I know that when they are being held, if their mouth starts to kind of vibrate, they are happy? Is there any other way to know he's happy if I am holding him?

How can I get him used to me? Right now I am sitting by his cage, talking to him, and feeding him pieces of bok choy, should I be doing something else?