Castration failed? ? ?

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lhucky

Reaction score
I have no idea where to put my concerns...

Anyways, my 2 castrated bunnies that are paired with unspayed bunnies got litters, how was that even possible?

Thor has been castrated exactly a year ago, but his mate gave birth last month and had another litters few days ago.

Bugsy about 6 months ago, but his partner also just gave birth yesterday.

We have 6, almost 3 month old bunnies that are still living with their mom. And sometimes play with our 2 unspayed bunnies that gave birth recently. Can a bunny that young cause the litters?

I read that most domestic rabbits are sexually mature at 4 months and 3 months is pretty close that.....maybe? I'm no professional though

Really? We're not that expert in determining sexes at a very young age, so we mainly rely on their testicles. it's just this week that we see their testicles....

http://www.bio.miami.edu/hare/spay.html

This says 3-8 months sexual maturity

I found a good way to determine the sex is that the genitals will be shaped like (|) for a doe with a slit and for a buck (o) with a general rounder smaller look. But I only have does (I think ones still really young) so I haven't gotten close looks at any bucks. Just a tip if you want to try to sex them besides looking for testicles.

Last edited:
Have you checked your castrated bucks to make sure their testicles are gone? Check for that first, and if their testicles are shrunk up and gone, I would say that it is possible it is your young males that became fertile. They usually aren't fertile until after 3 months, but it can sometimes happen earlier.