Camera-savvy members, I need your opinion!

Rabbits Online Forum

Help Support Rabbits Online Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kherrmann3

Reaction score
I have decided to upgrade my camera. Right now, I have a Kodak Easyshare something-or-other. It had 8.0 megapixels, and a nice zoom. I love taking pictures of animals, and since animals are normally a far-away or moving subject, I need a much better camera. I want to get something like those Sony or Nikon SLRs. What should I look for?

Here's what I would like from it:
- Decent-to-good zoom. I go birdwatching a lot, and this would help with IDing difficult birdies.
- Higher # of megapixels. I like nice, clear pictures (who doesn't?). Once again, the more detail I can get, the better.
- Fairly easy to use. I get used to most things quickly, but I'm not so good at manual settings, etc.
- It won't cost an arm and a leg. I work as a nursing assistant. I'm in college. I don't have a TON of money to use. :p Under $1,000 would be about where I would have to cut the price off (including some type of warranty). If I could get a nice camera and an additional lens for it, that would be even better.

I hope that someone here can help me out! I see a lot of cameras that sound the same, but will I like how the finished photo comes out? I am kind of unsure of what I exactly want, so I want to get as many opinions as I can!

Thanks in advance!

:biggrin2:

Kelly, what a crazy coincidence. Having just lost my beloved 10mp point and shoot, I started looking into cameras too since yesterday. I'd be interested in what folks say.